“Check Yourself”

Your day begins with your alarm screaming at you. 7:30 am is what is on the clock when you roll onto your side to look up at it. You roll out of bed and groggily eat breakfast and get ready for school, and stumble into the car at 7:47 am. You half-heartedly jog to your first class of the day at 7:59 and collapse into your seat a second before the bell rings. You live another day. “Projects are due right now!” Your teacher declares. You force yourself upward and hand in your 1278 word report to your teacher, which barely met the 1250 word requirement. You then collapse into your seat and sleep through the class; you pulled-an all nighter typing that thing.

 

Procrastination is quite a problem for some people. They wait until the deadline to turn in the project or report, and finish the whole thing before, while spending all the previous time relaxing and not doing anything. I suppose some people like the pressure of the deadline, but for others who don’t find that adrenaline appealing, it’s a problem.

I always told myself that I wouldn’t and couldn’t succumb to the disease which was procrastination; I had an almost perfect work ethic, I worked on things way before they were due, and I felt the pressure of the finish line the second the project was assigned. “What if there are complications? I must surely get the project done early, juuuust in case anything pops up, like a project for another class.” More relevant to now, the day my math teacher assigned our class a project, to create a 3D model of “a revolution of a function around a fixed axis.” While I planned out what I was going to make, many people in my class were casually talking to each other. “Is that your project,” asked my friend. “Yea, I haven’t assembled it yet,” I replied. “I haven’t even bought the things for the project yet,” he declared. We had this conversation only yesterday.

However, I did have moments where I did fall into the depth of despair. Only recently had I realized I was a giant procrastinator. I’m currently 17 and a month, and the deadline for turning in an eagle scout application is at 18. It takes almost half a year to finish, so I’m pretty worried and stressed out. It eats away at my soul and mind almost nags at me every day. As of recent, I have been going “ham” on it, but still, looking back, I realized that I’ve taken almost forever to just get to the point where I’m at. At least I recognize the problem, so I can make an attempt at fixing it.

I feel much better about myself now, I’ve gotten myself to do something about my problems. It takes little effort to look, but much more to do something. At least this change is good for me, so it’s well worth the effort to make a change for the better, like going through rehab to get off the drug that is procrastination, and it all begins with the thought of wanting change.

 

Your day begins with your alarm screaming at you. 6:45 am is what is on the clock when you sit straight up to look up at it. You jump of bed and energetically eat breakfast and get ready for school, and leap into the car at 7:25 am. You walk to your first class of the day at 7:50 and set yourself into your seat long before the bell rings. You live another day. “Projects are due right now!” Your teacher declares. You jump up and hand in your 1743 (high quality) word report to your teacher, which far surpassed the 1250 word requirement. You then proudly land on your seat and pay attention; you typed that thing a week ago, proofread it a couple of times, and got a great night’s sleep last night.

 

Leave a Reply

