A Not So Good Day, that Could Have Gone Better

It’s not everyday you consider a children’s book to be a beautifully crafted piece of literature. The book I am about to tell you about is one of my favorite books from when I was a child. I can not een remember the amounts of time I read this book. I think the main reason why I liked this novel so much was because i could identify with the main character of the story. This book is Alexander and the Terrible, horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst.

This novel is about a child named Alexander. Alexander is a kid who has one terrible day. Throughout the day he is plagued by various events that make his life seem like a living hell at the time but, are not actually all that bad. After many attempts to blame all that has happened to him on bad luck or just having a bad day and not to mention his many threats to move to Australia, “That magical land where nothing bad ever happens”, Alexander lays down onto his bed for the night, proclaiming that, “It has been a terrible… very bad day. My mom says some days are like that. Even in Australia.”

This children’s book may just seem that. A children’s book, but I can attest that it is way more than a child’s bedtime story. This book addresses some of the issues that we must face as we grow up. One main issue is our own incompetence and inability to take responsibility for our actions. Alexander is seen many times throughout the novel to be doing things that lead towards him having a bad day. Some of these are when he complains about how his teacher liked his friend’s picture of the sailboat better than Alexander’s picture of the invisible castle. If he really wanted his teacher’s recognition, he should actually just do some work. This is not the only time Alexander is caught being lazy and then blaming it on just having a bad day. Another event was when Alexander tripped on his skateboard in his room that he left out the previous night, or how he woke up with gum in his hair. Most if not all of the events that happened to Alexander could have been prevented if he were to just prepare ahead of time or do something.

I too was very much like Alexander as a child. I was never in the wrong and always believed that anything that happened to me was not my fault, but just divine intervention. I never attempted to change the way I lived my life, or the way I did things. I would just blame others, or blame it on having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. But when I began to notice that I kept making the same mistakes over and over again. I decided that Something would have to change, so I went out and corrected my mistakes. When I stopped blaming all these events on bad luck, I began to ask myself a question. What could I have done better, that would have prevented that event from going badly?

Lets be quite honest here, sometimes in life there are things that no matter what you do they will go wrong, just in spite of you. But most of the time that is not the case. There are problems that are going to pop up that you will just blame on bad luck or having a bad day. Do not keep making the same mistakes every day just because you are too stubborn to learn and do not want to admit your are wrong. So, for once in your life can you just admit to your own incompetence and try to learn something from it. Maybe we deserve the life we live.

Leave a Reply

